Архивы Factory - Catastrophes

Tianjin Binhai Explosion Accident

“Explosion accident in Tianjin Binhai New Area” (Explosion accident in Tianjin Binhai New Area) is a particularly major safety accident that occurred in Tianjin Binhai New Area. At 22:51:46 on August 12, 2015, a fire and explosion occurred in the dangerous goods warehouse of Ruihai Company in Tianjin Port, Binhai New Area, Tianjin. The total explosion energy in this accident was about 450 tons of TNT equivalent. 165 people were killed (including 24 active-duty public security firefighters, 75 Tianjin Port firefighters, 11 public security policemen, and 55 employees and residents of the accident company and surrounding companies), 8 people were missing (Among them, there are 5 firefighters in Tianjin, employees of surrounding enterprises and 3 family members of firefighters in Tianjin Port), 798 people were injured (58 serious and serious wounded, 740 light wounded), 304 buildings, 12,428 commodities Cars and 7533 containers were damaged.

As of December 10, 2015, according to the “Statistical Standards for Economic Loss of Employee Casualty Accidents in Enterprises” and other standards and regulations, the approved direct economic loss of the accident was 6.866 billion yuan. The investigation team of the State Council determined that the explosion accident in Tianjin Binhai New Area on 8.12 was a particularly serious production safety liability accident.

From November 7th to 9th, 2016, the first instance of 27 criminal cases involved in the explosion accident in Tianjin Binhai New Area on August 12 was held by the Tianjin No. 2 Intermediate People’s Court and 9 basic-level courts respectively. The defendant units involved in the above-mentioned cases, 24 directly responsible personnel and 25 defendants of related duty crimes were publicly pronounced. After the sentence was pronounced, the defendants in each case pleaded guilty and repented. Twenty-five staff members of state organs including Wu Dai, director of the Tianjin Municipal Transportation Commission, were sentenced to three to seven years in prison on charges of dereliction of dut